clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ndamukong Suh Voted AP Defensive Rookie Of The Year

Getty Images

As expected, Detroit Lions defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh was named the Associated Press Defensive Rookie of the Year on Friday night. Suh was on the receiving end of 48 of the 50 total votes, winning the award in landslide fashion.

Suh is now the seventh Lions rookie to take home the AP Rookie of the Year honor in the award's history. This is actually the most of any team since 1967, which is when the award split into an offensive and defensive category. The other six Lions to win the award are RB Mel Farr (1976), RB Billy Sims (1980), RB Barry Sanders (1989), WR Earl McCullough (1968), DE Al "Bubba" Baker (1978) and CB Lem Barney (1967). The Steelers are next on the list with a total of six players that have won the AP Rookie of the Year Award in their history.

In addition to this award, Suh has also received the following honors: AP All-Pro First Team, Pepsi Rookie of the Year, Sporting News Rookie of the Year, Pro Football Weekly/PFWA Rookie of the Year and Pro Bowl selection. Needless to say, Suh has proved to be worth the second overall pick in last year's draft.