clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lions Hand Out More Team Awards

Earlier this week, the Lions' official website announced that center Dominic Raiola was voted the team's top offensive lineman for 2011 by his teammates. Since then, the official site of the Lions has announced several other award winners for the 2011 season. Here's a rundown:

  • Mel Farr Rookie of the Year - WR Titus Young - Considering Nick Fairley dealt with a foot injury most of the season, Mikel Leshoure and Johnny Culbreath missed the entire season and Doug Hogue played mainly special teams, it's no surprise Young was named the Lions' top rookie for 2011.
  • Joe Schmidt Leadership Award - DE Kyle Vanden Bosch - KVB is the unquestioned leader of the defense. He and Nate Burleson are the ones who get the team pumped up before each game, which leads us to the next award ...
  • Mike Utley Spirit Award - WR Nate Burleson - Burleson and Vanden Bosch were signed at basically the same time in the 2010 offseason. In their two seasons in Detroit, both have had just as big of an impact off the field as they have had on the field for the Lions.
  • Yale Lary Special Teams MVP - K Jason Hanson and S John Wendling - There was a tie for this award between Hanson and Wendling. Hanson has now won this award six times after yet another solid year at kicker. Wendling picked up his first special teams MVP award for the Lions after having a good season on the coverage units.

Pride of Detroit Direct

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Pride of Detroit Direct, with exclusive updates from Jeremy Reisman on the ground at Allen Park, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Lions analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.