clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matthew Stafford Named AP Comeback Player Of The Year

At the NFL Honors in Indianapolis tonight, Detroit Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford took home the award for the AP Comeback Player of the Year. The award was presented by Van Heusen spokesmen Steve Young, Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders. Interestingly enough, Stafford is the newest spokesman for Van Heusen.

Here's a look at what Stafford had to say after winning the award:

You can check out the presentation of the award and Stafford's speech here, and you can find Stafford's interview after receiving the award here.

According to the video shown on NBC, the other nominees for the award were San Francisco 49ers quarterback Alex Smith, Cleveland Browns linebacker D'Qwell Jackson, New Orleans Saints running back Darren Sproles (?), Denver Broncos defensive end Elvis Dumervil, New York Jets wide receiver Plaxico Burress, New England Patriots defensive end Andre Carter and Carolina Panthers wide receiver Steve Smith.

The official tally of votes had Stafford in first with 21. He was followed by Jackson, Alex Smith, Steve Smith, Dumervil, Carter and New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning, who for some reason received a vote.

For more from Pride of Detroit, make sure to follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook.