clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Comparing Matthew Stafford's deal to other QB contracts

How does Matthew Stafford's new deal compare to the contracts of other NFL quarterbacks?

Gregory Shamus

This has been a pretty eventful offseason for quarterbacks when it comes to their contracts. Joe Flacco, Aaron Rodgers, Tony Romo and Matthew Stafford have all received new deals, and Matt Ryan will likely get a new deal of his own at some point this year.

On Wednesday morning, Stafford became the latest quarterback to snag an extension. He got three years and $53 million added on to his current deal, giving him a five-year contract worth $76.5 million. How does this compare to the other contracts handed out to quarterbacks this offseason? Let's take a look by examining each deal:

Stafford: 5 years, $76.5 million (avg. salary of $15.3 million), $41.5 million guaranteed
Flacco: 6 years, $120.6 million (avg. salary of $20.1 million), $52 million guaranteed
Rodgers: 7 years, $130.8 million (avg. salary of $18.7 million), $54 million guaranteed
Romo: 7 years, $119.5 million (avg. salary of $17.1 million), $55 million guaranteed

As you can see, Stafford's deal is shorter and worth much less money than the contracts the other three quarterbacks got this offseason. Considering Flacco and Rodgers are both Super Bowl champions, it makes a ton of sense that Stafford isn't earning nearly as much as them. Stafford is also making less than Romo, whose deal seems a bit on the high side when put up next to Flacco and Rodgers.

Eli Manning, who is a two-time Super Bowl champion, actually has the most similar contract to Stafford. Manning is on a seven-year deal worth $106.9 million. That averages out to $15.3 million a year, which is exactly what Stafford's average is in his new deal.

NEW: Join Pride of Detroit Direct

Jeremy Reisman will drop into your inbox twice a week to provide exclusive, in-depth reporting and insights from Ford Field. Subscribe to go deeper into Lions fandom, and join us on our path to win the Super Bowl.