clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ESPYS 2013: Calvin Johnson comes up empty

Calvin Johnson didn't win either of the ESPY awards he was nominated for on Wednesday night.

Hannah Foslien

Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson was up for two ESPY awards on Wednesday night. He didn't win either of them, though.

The first award that had Johnson among the list of nominees was Best Record-Breaking Performance. Johnson was nominated for breaking Jerry Rice's single-season receiving record, but he lost out on the award to swimmer Michael Phelps. Considering what Phelps has done at the Olympics over the years, it was no surprise he won.

It was also no surprise that Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson took home the ESPY for Best NFL Player. That was the other award Johnson was nominated for, and just like last year when Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers won, Johnson lost out to a fellow player from the NFC North.

Last year, the Lions did have someone take home an ESPY, as quarterback Matthew Stafford won the award for Best Comeback Athlete.

You can check out the full list of winners for the 2013 ESPYS here.

Pride of Detroit Direct

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Pride of Detroit Direct, with exclusive updates from Jeremy Reisman on the ground at Allen Park, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Lions analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.