clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Start time announced for Lions-Chiefs game in London

New, comments

The Detroit Lions' 2015 game in London against the Kansas City Chiefs is going to kick off early in the morning for those of us in North America.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL experimented a bit with the Detroit Lions' game in London last season against the Atlanta Falcons by having it start at 9:30 a.m. ET. The early morning kickoff for those in the United States meant an afternoon kickoff for those in London, and the experiment was a big success. Ratings were solid, and the Lions-Falcons game was a pretty dramatic way for the day of football to begin with Detroit winning on a last-second field goal.

The early morning kickoff worked so well that all three of the NFL's 2015 games in London are going to kick off at 9:30 a.m. ET. That includes the Lions' game against the Kansas City Chiefs on Nov. 1. Here's the full schedule:

Oct. 4, 2015: New York Jets vs. Miami Dolphins, 9:30 a.m. ET, 2:30 p.m. UK
Oct. 25, 2015: Buffalo Bills vs. Jacksonville Jaguars, 9:30 a.m. ET, 1:30 p.m. UK
Nov. 1, 2015: Detroit Lions vs. Kansas City Chiefs, 9:30 a.m. ET, 2:30 p.m. UK

(Note: Since daylight saving time ends in the UK on Oct. 25, the Bills-Jaguars game will kick off locally an hour earlier than the other two games.)

I personally was a big fan of the early kickoff since the Lions' game was over by lunch and there was still a full day of football to go. It was a bit weird watching football so early in the day at first, but thanks to the Lions' dramatic comeback, it turned out to be a pretty cool experience.