Back in Week 4, the Detroit Lions lost to the Seattle Seahawks after the refs missed a batting penalty that would have given them a shot at a game-winning touchdown. On Thursday night, the Lions fell victim to another officiating controversy.
With time expiring, the Green Bay Packers ran the typical lateral, desperation play hoping to luck their way into a touchdown. However, Devin Taylor quickly swallowed up Aaron Rodgers, pulling him to the ground and ending the game.
...until a yellow flag appeared from the horizon. Personal Foul. Facemask. Green Bay would get another unclocked down to win the game. And win the game they did on an unbelievable hail mary.
But let's look back at the facemask call. Was it legit?
Technically does hit the facemask. Probably doesn't hurt that Rodgers' head goes right. pic.twitter.com/k0rJ5U0rIu— Mike Tunison (@xmasape) December 4, 2015
The hand grazes the facemask, and Rodgers' head turns, but was that enough for a personal foul call. Let's look at the rulebook:
No player shall grasp and control, twist, turn, push, or pull the facemask of an opponent in any direction.
Note: If a player grasps an opponent’s facemask, he must immediately release it. If he does not immediately release it and controls his opponent, it is a foul.
The head turn is where the grey area is, but either way, this is a ticky-tack call, especially on the last play of the game. Of course, things are going at game speed and it's incredibly difficult to make that call on the spot.
This controversy will roll well into Friday, but what are your thoughts?