clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL names locations for Super Bowl 53, 54 and 55

Owners voted on Tuesday to award the locations of the 2019, 2020 and 2021 Super Bowls. Here's the results.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL has awarded another three Super Bowls to three cities. With Super Bowl 51 set in Houston and Super Bowl 52 in 2018 due for Minneapolis, all Super Bowl locations up to the year 2020 were voted on by the league owners.

The four contending locations for Super Bowl 53 were Atlanta, New Orleans, Tampa Bay and South Florida (Miami Gardens, the location of the Miami Dolphins' stadium). All four cities survived the first ballot. In the second ballot, South Florida and Tampa Bay were dropped due to low votes, leaving Atlanta and New Orleans in a simple majority ballot. In the end, Atlanta triumphed.

The contending locations for Super Bowl 54 was between South Florida, Tampa Bay and Los Angeles. After the first ballot, no winner was selected but Los Angeles removed their name from consideration for 2020. After a super majority vote failed to declare a winner between the two, a simple majority awarded Super Bowl 54 to South Florida.

Finally, Los Angeles was quickly awarded Super Bowl 55. Like Atlanta, they will have a new stadium built, set to open in 2019.

Announced Super Bowl locations:

2019 Super Bowl LIII: Mercedez-Benz Stadium, Atlanta, Georgia
2020 Super Bowl LIV: New Miami Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida
2021 Super Bowl LV: Inglewood Stadium, Inglewood, California