clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 NFL Honors awards results, Hall of Fame class announced

The night before the Super Bowl, the league announced awards for the 2016 season and the 2017 Hall of Fame class.

NFC Championship - Green Bay Packers v Atlanta Falcons Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

As per tradition, the NFL had their Honors Awards announced on the eve of the Super Bowl. In addition to the annual awards, this is when the new Hall of Fame class is announced.

For 2017, the Detroit Lions were once again shut out of both announcements. Instead, there weren’t many surprises in the postseason honors. Here’s a look:

Most Valuable Player of the Year - QB Matt Ryan, Atlanta Falcons
Offensive Player of the Year - QB Matt Ryan, Atlanta Falcons
Defensive Player of the Year - LB Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders
Offensive Rookie of the Year: QB Dak Prescott, Dallas Cowboys
Defensive Rookie of the Year - DE Joey Bosa, San Diego Chargers
Comeback Player of the Year - WR Jordy Nelson, Green Bay Packers
Coach of the Year: Jason Garrett, Dallas Cowboys

In case you were wondering, Matthew Stafford did not receive a vote for Offensive Player of the Year nor MVP.

And here’s a look at the 2017 NFL Hall of Fame class, which, surprisingly, does not include Terrell Owens.

  • RB LaDainian Tomlinson
  • QB Kurt Warner
  • DE Jason Taylor
  • RB Terrell Davis
  • K Morten Andersen
  • S Kenny Easley
  • Owner Jerry Jones