clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matthew Stafford nominated for 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The Lions franchise quarterback has earned some recognition for his sportsmanship.

Cleveland Browns v Detroit Lions Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

On Thursday, the NFL announced the 32 players nominated for the 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes players who “exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.”

Each team presents their own nominee and a panel of former players will eventually decide on eight finalists. From there players will vote on the remaining nominees and a winner will be announced during the NFL Honor show on February 1. In addition to the award and accompanying trophy, the winner will receive a $25,000 donation to the charity of their choice on behalf of the NFL Foundation.

Past Lions nominees include Don Muhlbach (2018), Haloti Ngata (2017), Glover Quin (2016) and Calvin Johnson (2014 and 2015).

No Detroit Lion has ever won the award. Past winners include Saints quarterback Drew Brees, Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly, Colts running back Frank Gore, Raiders cornerback Charles Woodson and Cardinals receiver Larry Fitzgerald.

To see a full list of the 2019 nominations, click here.

Pride of Detroit Direct

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Pride of Detroit Direct, with exclusive updates from Jeremy Reisman on the ground at Allen Park, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Lions analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.