clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Calvin Johnson named semi-finalist for Hall of Fame

The Lions legend may be on his way to Canton.

San Francisco 49ers v Detroit Lions Photo by Mark Cunningham/Detroit Lions/Getty Images

Former Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson has been named a semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2021.

Johnson is one of 25 Modern-Era semifinalists. 2021 is his first year of Hall of Fame eligibility since he retired after the 2015 season.

The wide receiver spent his entire nine-year career with the Lions after being drafted second overall by the team in 2007. He amassed over 11,000 receiving yards and 83 touchdowns in the 135 career games he played in Detroit. In 2012, he set an NFL record with 1,964 receiving yards in a single season.

Johnson was named to six Pro Bowls and four All-Pro teams during his career. He was also named to the the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s All-2010’s team.

Other first-ballot players named to the list include Minnesota Vikings pass rusher Jared Allen, two-time Super Bowl champion quarterback Peyton Manning and Michigan Wolverines alumni Charles Woodson.

Five modern-era players will be named to the final ballot. Then, players on the final ballot must receive at least “yes” votes from at least 80 percent of the Hall of Fame committee to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

Pride of Detroit Direct

Sign up now for a 7-day free trial of Pride of Detroit Direct, with exclusive updates from Jeremy Reisman on the ground at Allen Park, instant reactions after each game, and in-depth Lions analysis from film expert Jon Ledyard.