clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 Detroit Lions Awards: Full listing of winners

A look at the 10 winners of the POD Awards.

NFL: Detroit Lions at Denver Broncos Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The votes have been tabulated, the ballots have been double-checked, and we made sure there was no hacking this time*. It’s time to announce the winners of the 2019 Detroit Lions Pride of Detroit Awards.

Over the past couple weeks, we have asked you, the kind reader, to vote for all 10 categories. Along the way, I tried to make a fair case for each of the candidates, who should be flattered just to be nominated for this prestigious award.

There weren’t many surprises when it comes to the results. For the second year in a row, Kenny Golladay won both Offensive Player of the Year and Breakout Player of the Year. This year, however, he added a big one to resume: Most Valuable Player. He just barely edged out Matthew Stafford in one of the tightest polls we had this year.

Here’s a look at all 10 winners from 2019 and the full results from each category.

*not true, I really don’t care about poll hacking


Kenny Golladay (268 votes) - 51%
Matthew Stafford (260 votes) - 49%

Offensive Player of the Year

Kenny Golladay - 79%
Matthew Stafford - 16%
Frank Ragnow - 4%
Marvin Jones Jr. - 0%

Defensive Player of the Year

Trey Flowers - 37% (242 votes)
Tracy Walker - 36% (240 votes)
Darius Slay - 22%
Devon Kennard - 5%

POD Moment of the Year

Farewell, Chris - 36%
Mike Payton’s Mental Health series - 28%
Name Bracket hacking - 20%
Fortnite with Graham Glasgow - 16%

Game of the Year

Lions vs. Chiefs - 55%
Lions vs. Eagles - 28%
Lions vs. Packers (Week 6) - 16%
Lions vs. Packers (Week 17) - 0%

Play of the Year

Stafford splits 4 vs. Chiefs - 59%
Flea flickers vs. Giants - 14%
Slay GW-INT vs. Chargers - 11%
Amendola passing TD - 11%
Agnew punt return TD - 5%

Coach of the Year

Darrell Bevell (OC) - 88%
Robert Prince (WR) - 6%
Sean Ryan (QB) - 4%
John Bonamego (ST) - 3%

Breakout Player of the Year

Kenny Golladay - 33%
Bo Scarbrough - 27%
Frank Ragnow - 21%
Tracy Walker - 17%
Danny Amendola - 3%

Rookie of the Year

Jahlani Tavai - 66%
Amani Oruwariye - 24%
T.J. Hockenson - 10%

Special Teams Player of the Year

Jamal Agnew - 43%
Don Muhlbach - 30%
Matt Prater - 27%

Congrats to our winners! Sadly, we have no actual hardware for you, but I’ll give you a hefty pat on the back, if requested.

Thanksgiving deal: Save 20% on PODD

What's more Lions than football on Thanksgiving!? To celebrate the holiday, use promo code GOLIONS20 to save 20% on your first year of Pride of Detroit Direct. Sign up today for exclusive game analysis, subscriber-only videos, and much more!