clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Detroit Lions name 6 team captains for 2020 season

There are two new captains for the Detroit Lions in 2020.

NFL: OCT 20 Vikings at Lions Photo by Scott W. Grau/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Detroit Lions head coach Matt Patricia announced on Friday morning that the team had elected six captains for the 2020 season. Those six players are Matthew Stafford, Taylor Decker, Trey Flowers, Jarrad Davis, Duron Harmon and Don Muhlbach.

Stafford, Decker, Davis and Muhlbach were all named captains last year and have long been considered leaders of this team. The addition of Trey Flowers should come as no surprise, as he has been one of the more vocal players this offseason when it comes to social issues. For example, he was on a panel describing the importance to vote and the was a strong voice during recent demonstration after the shooting of Jacob Blake. Likewise, safety Duron Harmon has been equally vocal when it comes to social issues, and he also bring a veteran presence to a relatively young secondary.

Unlike during Jim Caldwell’s era, the Lions name captains for the entire year and do not change week to week.