clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 Detroit Lions establish 53-man roster

Here’s a look at the team’s initial 53-man roster for the 2020 season.

Detroit Lions v Washington Redskins Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

After an offseason like no other, the Detroit Lions and all other 31 NFL teams now have 53-man rosters in preparation of the start of the season, which is now just a week away. This year had to be one of the tougher for coaches and general managers, as they had to unenviable task of evaluating an entire roster based on just a couple weeks of practice and no preseason games.

For the Lions, it may have been especially tough. Their roster went through some serious changes this offseason—especially on defense—but they’ve been given little time to adjust to a new system or develop chemistry between each other.

Regardless, the Lions managed to whittle their roster down and they’re now left with 53 players that could contribute to their success in 2020. Of course, it’s important to note that this is not the final 53-man roster, as teams almost always make a few roster tweaks before Week 1. But, for now, here is the Lions’ initial 53-man roster for the 2020 season.

Quarterbacks (2)

QB Matthew Stafford
QB Chase Daniel

Running backs (5)

RB D’Andre Swift
RB Kerryon Johnson
RB Ty Johnson
FB Jason Cabinda
RB Bo Scarbrough

Tight ends (3)

TE T.J. Hockenson
TE Jesse James
TE Hunter Bryant

Wide Receivers (6)

WR Kenny Golladay
WR Marvin Jones Jr.
WR Danny Amendola
WR Quintez Cephus
WR Marvin Hall
WR Jamal Agnew

Offensive tackles (4)

LT Taylor Decker
RT Halapoulivaati Vaitai
OT Tyrell Crosby
OT Matt Nelson

Guards/Centers (4)

G Joe Dahl
C Frank Ragnow
G Jonah Jackson
G Logan Stenberg

Defensive line (6)

DE Trey Flowers
DE Romeo Okwara
DL Da’Shawn Hand
DT Nick Williams
DT Danny Shelton
DT John Penisini

Linebackers (8)

LB Jamie Collins Sr.
LB Jarrad Davis
LB Christian Jones
LB Jahlani Tavai
LB Julian Okwara
LB Reggie Ragland
LB Jalen Reeves-Maybin
LB Elijah Lee

Cornerbacks (7)

CB Jeff Okudah
CB Desmond Trufant
CB Justin Coleman
CB Amani Oruwariye
CB Tony McRae
CB Darryl Roberts
CB Mike Ford

Safeties (5)

S Tracy Walker
S Duron Harmon
S Will Harris
S C.J. Moore
S Miles Killebrew

Specialists (3)

P Jack Fox
K Matt Prater
LS Don Muhlbach