clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2021 Detroit Lions free agency news, rumors tracker

Tracking all the official and unofficial news regarding Detroit Lions free agency.

Detroit Lions v Arizona Cardinals Photo by Ralph Freso/Getty Images

Happy free agency week!

The 2021 offseason has already been pretty crazy, especially for Detroit Lions fans, but things are about to kick into another gear for the rest of the NFL. Free agency is always one of the most hectic times of the year as teams do their best impression of Black Friday, hoping to add the final pieces needed to bring in a Lombardi Trophy.

With the added complication of a reduced salary cap, we are entering uncharted territories for the NFL, and it’s somehow made things even more exciting.

The Detroit Lions are a team going through a massive overhaul, and that has already resulted in several key players from the previous regime being released or traded away. It could just as well result in a lot of action this year in free agency, even with the limited cap space available.

So while you can keep track of all the Lions’ official moves with our Free Agency Tracker, stick around right here for all of the rumors both involving some of the players the Lions may be losing and the ones they may be adding. If the Lions are “showing interest” in a free agent, you’ll see it here. If a Lions’ free agent is “visiting” three different teams before signing, you’ll find it in the list below. Anything that is not an agreed upon deal or official signing will be in here (and we’ll also throw the signings here).

This, essentially, will just be a growing, living article with all of the latest free agency news and rumors regarding the Lions. If you’re just looking for the “official” stuff and the latest regarding all of the Lions’ free agents, check the offseason tracker here.

So let’s kick this thing off!

(Latest news is on top)

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 24

Tuesday, March 23

Monday, March 22

Saturday, March 20

Friday, March 19

Thursday, March 18

Wednesday, March 17

Tuesday, March 16

Safety Keanu Neal: Lions among 6 teams interested in Neal, per Josina Anderson

Monday, March 15

Sunday, March 14

  • Romeo Okwara: Per ESPN, the Lions would “love to retain” Okwara, but expect him to explore his options in free agency first.

Saturday, March 13