clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Detroit Lions announce dates fans can attend training camp

Fans will be welcomed back into Allen Park in 2021.

Syndication: Detroit Free Press Kirthmon F. Dozier via Imagn Content Services, LLC

With the NFL slowly getting back to business as usual, rules surrounding the precautionary measures taken to protect against the COVID-19 virus are being scaled back. We learned in May that the league was planning on having stadiums at full capacity in the fall, and it’s been rumored that fans will also be able to attend training camps once again.

Those rumors became a reality on Tuesday, as the Detroit Lions officially announced that fans will be allowed to attend practices at the teams’ Allen Park practice facility over a three-week period from late July to mid-August.

In total, the Lions will hold 11 practices during this time, with two being exclusively for season-ticket holders and only nine open to the general public. Here’s a closer look at those dates:

  • Saturday, July 31 (exclusive for season ticket holders)
  • Monday, August 2
  • Tuesday, August 3
  • Wednesday, August 4
  • Thursday, August 5
  • Friday, August 6
  • Monday, August 9
  • Tuesday, August 10
  • Wednesday, August 11
  • Monday, August 16
  • Tuesday, August 17 (exclusive for season ticket holders)

As of now, the Lions plan to hold each practice at 8:30 am ET, with gates opening up to the public an hour early at 7:30 am, with the final practice (17th) being the only exception, as it currently has a 6:30 pm start time. Those times are subject to change for a variety of reasons including coaching decisions or inclement weather.

Additionally, this year's new rule is that there will be a maximum capacity number of fans allowed to attend each practice due to the NFL social distancing rules. So arrive early to get your spot in the stands.

For details on potential time changes, weather tracking, where to park, entrance guidelines, permitted items allowed, rules for observing practice, and the teams’ “fan health promise,” be sure to visit the Lions training camp webpage for all the latest and up to date information.